Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the most essential component for a student’s future. The prompt states that competition between students for higher ranks is limiting the student’s learning levels. In my opinion, I agree with the statement and argue that student must learn the concept rather than fighting for the higher rank.

To begin, nowadays every educational institution is forcing student to get a class top mark rather than trying to teach them in a better way. Schools are injecting the information forcefully into their brains so that they can remember them by heart. Remembering by heart doesn’t help as people tend to forget in a few months. However, if the concept is learnt with a good understanding then there is very less probability of forgetting the concept because student has learnt it and analyzed it.

Further, just because of the competition for the higher rank, the quality of the education has declined rapidly. Instead of teaching the subject teachers are making students to memorize the concept and using the formulas to solve the problems. For instance, in India for 12th students, the goal is to get into a IIT(Indian Institute of Technology) or NIT (National Institute of Technology). For this purpose, teachers behave in an obdurate way such as just making the students to practice the practical problems without teaching them the theory. Students might get selected into his ambitious college but what is the beneficial if there is no application knowledge. The above example states that because of the competition between the students, they are forced to by heart the questions rather than practically applying it.

There are few students who are really merit. They understand the concept and they apply it practically. However, Education board must take necessary action on this because the future of the country and world lies in the younger generations. If they are not aware of any practical purpose then development and innovation in any field gets stagnated instead of growing.