Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In any field, we all need that one person that could critically judge our work, without it, it might be difficult to improve in your given field. However, I mostly agree with the statement that critical judgment could have little or no value coming from a non-expert and this would be highlighted by diving into three fields in this essay.

In the world of technology, and specifically in Information technology, one of the best things to have is a pair programming partner, an expert to criticize your work and solutions you have come up with through coding, this is very helpful in terms of the progression of the programmer's work being analyzed, and research has shown that programmers with pair programmers do better than those that don't, they come to see areas they can improve and it goes on to give them the ability to not repeat similar mistakes in their work. If this same programmer's work was scrutinized and judged by a non-technical person, It would be very difficult to pass judgment on a programming language you know next to nothing about, and thus adding little or no value to the work at hand. In the scenario, we have seen how useful it is for work to be criticized, It is valuable and often encouraged because it leads to more quality work in the future, but we have also seen that from a non-technical person, it could bring little or no value, but this is drawn simply from the field of technology.

In the area of science, that is a critical field in which doctors save lives. Critical judgment is even more important here as the improvement in their specific domain could help save lives. Now, would a person who isn't a doctor or just anyone be able to provide solid advice to a doctor to improve on maybe how to cut a patient open? Not likely. Having an expert and critical feedback or judgment in this case is crucial. But in comparison with no feedback at all, the little feedback or judgment you can get could however be important. In this field and specifically with doctors. A non-expert critical judgment is also going to add little or no value.

However, a judgment could be very valuable even from someone who is not in a specific area . Take for instance, the agricultural sector, farmers can get advice from someone who is an expert in a different field on the days it would rain causing the farmer to make a more informed decision. In another case the farmer could be criticized on the pattern of watering his or her plants and thus lead to better work patterns for that farmer in effect this judgment can be seen as very useful. In this scenario, judgment from a non-expert has come to be very useful in this regard.

All in all, we have looked at different areas and fields in which critical judgment could add little value and in areas where it could add a ton of value. We can't for a certainty with these examples say that only experts can give critical judgment, more research and evidence would be needed to make such a concrete statement.