Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Along with technology developing in contemporary society, the world seems more complex. When we are facing difficult issue which exceed our own experiences, seeking for resolution from others' recommendation would be a faster method. Besides, peer’s competition would also raise questions for each other. Yet, whose opinion could be trusted? Someone argues that besides opinion from an expert, the suggestion has no value to take upon. This issue is definitely a controversial one, however, after weigh the disadvantages and advantages of this question, I mostly disagree with this claim.

Admittedly, opinions from experts are valuable based on their experiences and knowledge from their own field. For most cases, people are likely to ask an expert when they meet problem which they cannot fix it by themselves. For instance, people would prefer to buy some medication from pharmacies when they get fever, but when they are facing complex disease like diabetes, they would choose to go hospital for a diagnosis from the doctors. Without years accumulation of medical knowledge, one cannot just diagnosis by themselves and get a prescription. In this case, the judgement from experts are definitely cannot be ignorance and replaced by a non-specialist.

However, experts also have their limits at some point. When the issue occurs to the field which is closer to general public, ideas from non-specialists would also provide some sparkling ideas. For example, Union company once hire experts to fix a problem of examine empty boxes on the convey belt in the soap producing workshop. Those engineers dig on different machines and formulates to solve the question by several months. A wonderful idea comes from a non-specialist solved this issue, he suggests putting a huge fan beside the convey belt, let the wind blow off those empty boxes. Accordingly, some cases could be solved by non-specialists perfectly as well.

Besides the occasional sparkling idea from other fields, the judgement from peers is also important. Let's see in the enterprise, competition from different companies to win one bid or same market region is common. When evaluate which products or services are better winner, critical judgement from peers would come up. It is the best time to learn from others, and crucial moment to review themselves for the company when they are in face to face competition. Competition and judgement from peers help the enterprise go further.

To conclusion, whether opinions are from a non-specialist or specialist, those critical judgement are same important, those opinions could provide another unexpected aspect for you to evaluate. What weighs more is the critical mindset of oneself, the ability to distinct and balance between comprehensive information.