Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Judgment of work in any fields is valued in many aspects. Some say that it is only valuable when it comes from an expert in the field, While others hold the opposite opinion that even the judgment from an layman may sometimes be practical. Admittedly, judgment from expert is more accurate and persuasive in general because it is based on researches and evidences. However, I still strongly believe that it is important to incorporate all kinds of judgment. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate the idea from three views of point.

To begin with, judgment from expert is much more reliable. Their judgment of work is based on continuous researches and experiences, while others make judgement merely by conjecture without solid evidences. As a result, expert’s judgment is more likely to predict something accurately and value something correctly. Take meteorology for example. It is better for people to believe the professional report from a weather forecaster instead of accepting the conjecture about weather from others. Though people in my country suffer from numerous typhoons during summer season, we are not hurt seriously because the forecast always predict typhoon accurately. We know when should we stay in home instead of going outside. Therefore, the judgment of expert prevent negative consequences from happening effectively.

Nevertheless, expert may sometimes be refrained by their own experience and thus unable to think outside the box. However, it is those so-called layman sometimes think imaginatively and come up with practical ideas. For instance, a type of computer made by a company was reported to have serious problem that the computer was not able to run some applications. The company hired a experienced programmer to fix the problem, but he could not solve it. Instead, the problem was solved by an operator who accidentally found that the chips was dirty in those computers. The problem was resulted from hardware instead of software that it was meaningless for a programmer to identify the problem. Therefore, sometimes we should adopt various kind of opinions.

Third,in some fields of study, anyone can make critical judgment of work because the work can be appreciated in many aspects. It is especially true in the fields of art because there is not an universally objective criteria to measure any pieces of artwork. For example, Chang’s abstract paintings were not valued by those so-called experts decades ago in my country because they did not understand the meaning behind the artworks. However, those works are highly appreciated by publics as it expressed the ordinary lifestyle similar to them. Though his works were criticized by experts, he was still regarded as one of the most great artists in my country. Thus, there is no uniform standard to measure works in some fields.

In sum, though expert’s judgment of works may be persuasive in general, we should not preclude all the opinions which are not proposed by experts. After all, experts’ idea may sometimes go wrong and those layman’s points may be penetrative due to their unlimited thinking.