If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether any means taken in pursuit of a goal is reasonable can be weighed in many aspects. However, the argument is based on generalization. The statement simply assumes that all the measures are beneficial, but in reality, some measures might have negative side-effects. Moreover, it is presumptuous to suggest that all the measures taken to attain a goal is conducive. Therefore, even though attaining a goal by all means can be advantageous, there is no guarantee that the consequence is beneficial.

Admittedly, the author’s claim might appear to have considerable merit. After all, a goal is difficult to be attained if the available measures are scarce. Yet the speaker fails to provide a clear litmus test for measuring measures. When we speak of “measures taken in pursuit of goal,” the following come to mind: a country attempts to be affluent by conquering its neighboring nations violently, a president was elected by bribery, a businessman established a lucrative company by cheating. Curiously, it is the measure that would cause negative consequences should not be used in any situations. Therefore, in order to determine the prerequisites of using any measures to attain a goal, it is necessary to examine the different sort of consequences that are caused by the measures.

It is thus justifiable to take both negative and positive consequences into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider a country, Brazil for example, which aspires significant economic growth. If Brazil government deforests the largest rainforest in the world in order to acquire the abundant raw materials which can be used to develop its industries, it would cause global warming and destroy the biological diversity. The result will negatively influence the whole people in the world. Even if the government does not deforest in such a brutal way, we can imagine that the growing number of factories would inevitably cause serious pollution that threaten local people’s health. Therefore, the big picture, composed of different consequences accompany by the measures, need to be seen.

In summary, the statement is not persuasive as it stands. Although it is sometimes much more effective to attain the goal that is worthy by all means, not all goals are the same. If people do not consider the potential outcome that are generated by the measures they take, the result will backfire no matter how attractive the goal is.