It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Hero is formed by many factors. Some say that it is impossible to regard a living person as a hero, while others hold the opposite opinion that there is more opportunities for a society to create living hero. Admittedly, it is common to see a person become a hero by the influence of media. However, I still strongly believe that it is not likely for modern people to be heroes which last forever. Those heroes may be soon degraded because of the rapid spread of information. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate the idea from a social and a technological view of point.

To begin with, social media exposes scandals in order to make profit. By the expose of negative news, the so-called heroes soon become notorious and no one would regard them as heroes. Take Clinton for example. He was the president of United States who was widely respected as the economy thrived for a long period under his guidance. However, the once national hero soon became notorious because of his sexual affair which was exposed by the media. Therefore, the influence of modern social media makes people impossible to be heroes.

Second, being hero is difficult because of the advancement of technology. The advent of the Internet enables information to spread rapidly and quickly no matter the information is reliable or not. People who are not able to think critically would believe the news they receive without evaluating evidences. Heroes are smeared easily in such a way. For example, the prime minister of my country was accused of involving in a bribery last year. Though the event was resulted from an online fake news and he was soon proved to be innocent, many people still believe the fake news instead of solid evidence. Even though he was once regarded as a hero as he rejuvenated the domestic economy, many people regarded he as merely a avaricious politician. Therefore, the power of technology can destroy a hero.

Nevertheless, social media and technology may sometimes create hero. Both of the tools can manipulate the public impression. People can be respected widely and thus become heroes when the social media praise them openly through television or online channel. Though president Ma made several mistakes during his presidency, the social media praised him frequently on television. He was described as a hero who improved the severe air pollution in my country. The mistakes he has made, however, were forgiven by publics because the media kept propagating the idea that no one in fleckless. Therefore, it may still possible for a society to regard someone as hero.

In sum, I mostly agree with the idea that it is difficult for modern people to consider a person as a hero. In most of time, media and technology destroy a hero or even refrain the existence of hero. Nevertheless, those tools can sometimes produce polarized consequence which create hero in another way.