Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The author asserts that only critics from the expert are valuable. It may be true in a certain field that requires a deep understanding of the issue. However, there are many cases that a different perspective of the general public is beneficial when it comes to the complicated issue related to another part of society or ethical problems.

Admittedly, there is a time when the expert’s opinion or suggestion is required. It would take years of profound research experience and study in order to understand matters related to the most complicated fields such as modern physics. For example, there is a theory of physics, called Super-string theory. This theory tries to explain the fundamental mechanism of the universe by studying ceaselessly vibration strings as the smallest unit of the world. I am sure that most people would not understand what it means. For cases like the example above, critics from the experts of the field, who have fundamental knowledge, contribute substantially more than the ones from the public do.

However, everyone has a right to criticize. Sometime it may be a stereotype that the general public’s opinion carries less value than the experts. As I stated above, there are issues that require a particular level of expertise. Nevertheless, it is also true that the public should scrutinize the issues and put forward a constructive opinion no matter how complicated the issues are because we are living in the era that work of one field is tangled with another field. For example, in China, a doctor successfully edited a baby’s genetic information using advanced medical technologies. We may not comprehend how the machine the doctor used to edit the baby’s gene works or which gene was modified. We should consider human ethics with the scientifically astonishing news. Just because something can be done doesn’t always mean it should be done.

Furthermore, critics from a novice would sometimes be a great opportunity for experts in a particular field of study. We always encourage to think out of the box on many occasions; yet, it is often difficult for the expert who has years of experience in the one’s field. Once you get a simple suggestion from the beginner’s perspective, it may trigger the driving force to hardship that the experts find it hard to overcome. For instance, the janitor worked for 3M took a new, strong adhesive which considered as a failure and used it to attach a small piece of paper when he read the Bible. When a company researcher found how the janitor used the adhesive, one of the great inventions, Post-it Note, had started.

To sum up, I do not fully agree with the author’s statement that the expert opinion only matters. There are cases that the work requires critics from the experts of the particular field. On the other hand, in some cases, the harshest critics from the general public are necessary or the fresh view of layperson may contribute more than any critics from experts.