Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Sometimes we find a gem in the unlikeliest of places. The purpose of an educational institute is to provide us with the right tools to find that unique gem inside us and make it shine. Thus I don't agree with the authors' statement that educational institutes should control the fields of our study.

An educational institution is the one of the formal places where people go to study and learn about various fields and they develop multiple talents. Its the responsibility of these formal institutes to provide the apt infrastructure and learning environment, conducive for learning. Every person is unique and there are many hidden talents that the world may not know about them due to various reasons. Someone might be a closet singer, another can compose beautiful poetry.

Instead judging superficially by the grades and daily interactions seems. By dissuading students from not taking part into certain fields might result in hampering in the students future career. Thomas Alva Edison was thrown out of school, after his teachers called him mentally ill and addled. Sadly no one in his school could diagnose that he suffered from dyslexia. It was his mother who was determined to educate him and imparted him the knowledge, resulting him becoming who he was.

Inventor of the light bulb. Instead had his teachers listened and understood his way of thinking and provided him with appropriate platform to conceive those ideas, his success could have been credited to them. Rather they demeaned and humiliated him. Providing the appropriate platforms and environment for people to come forth with their talents is very important. Rather than dissuading students from pursuing certain fields, schools should provide extra effort and time into students they perceive as 'weak' or are unlikely to succeed in them. Chances are they are providing the knowledge and skill to the next Steve Jobs or Thomas Alva Edison and would be pleasantly surprised at their success.

Thus if educational institutions truly want their students to succeed, they should provide with the best of infrastructure and education and believe in them. Then their job is fully done.