To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Society is defined and characterized of the people living in it. It is moulded and shaped by the cultures, values and views of the communities described in it. It is these characteristics which helps the people associate themselves as a part of the society. However these cultures and traditions change from region to region and one certain set of definitions can’t summarize the entire society. Thus I don’t agree with author that the most important characteristics are understood by studying the main cities.

With the advent of technology the world has become closer with people of different nationals and cultures residing side by side in the same city. These amalgamations are pertaining mostly to the major cities only. Such cities are being lined up with high glass faced buildings. With this current form of city planning and creation, the major cities could anywhere on the planet and still be a part of the area. This has resulted in creating monotonous cities which have no soul to the city. Although these amalgamations of the cultures does create a new culture of its own, it however can not describe and summarize the society of a nation completely. Moreover to reside in such amalgamated cultures one has to lose a part of their own to be able to fit into the society. Thus truly understand a society one should go deep into the small towns and countryside. For example, India is a country of many cultures and traditions. These cultures and tradition vary from region to region which are affected by various factors such as geography, historic events etc. The characteristic of the southern part of the country, especially the smaller towns is very different from the northern counterpart of the nation. From clothing to rituals to their general views, the society is completely different. Whereas the southerners believe in simple living and high thinks, most of the northerners believe in living life king style.

Thus to truly understand a society, one should study a various developments as they contribute a certain part to the society making. Some of the important characteristics of a society are lost in the major cities, which citizens coming from various parts of the society trying to fit in.