Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Education is process of attainment of knowledge. It is one of the common channels for developing skills and talents which can be honed for the betterment of the society and for attaining personal success. Thus it should be a birth right of each and every citizen of a country. Therefore I agree with the authors’ statement that education should be provided to any student who can’t afford it.

Economical background and politics should not be a hurdle for attaining an education for anyone who is yearning for it. Students from all walks of life should have an equal opportunity to education instead of worrying about the expenses. But instead of just providing free education at the university level, government should ensure free education at all levels. If the foundation is rock solid, then the structure above it has the opportunity to grow more. If the foundation is off to a rocky start then the structure has little life to it. Thus ensuring education for all from the early stages ensures a rock solid start to building their own life. Moreover this would not only ensure high levels of literacy in the society but also forward thinking far from the prejudices and preconceptions.

Free education also helps the citizens to develop and hone their talents and skills to the best of their potential. This ensures individuals are adept with abilities to look after and sustain themselves thus creating lesser strain on the government to provide for them. Hence reducing the number of homeless situations. Moreover an eductaed society would result in a more informed and mature next genration which would futher help to boost the growth of the country.

Therefore by investing in the education of its citizens a government is ensuring a better future for its citizens, thus investing in the country.