Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Education is the process of imparting knowledge pertaining to various academic, social and moral fields. It provides a person specific talents and skills to sustain herself in the world. True education not only focuses on knowledge pertaining to the growth of a career but also focuses on sensitising people on social and moral needs of the society. As martin Luther King Jr. said, “The function of education is to teach one to think intensively, and to think critically. Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education.” Thus, I agree with the authors’ point of view that students should be required to take multifarious courses outside the student’s field of study.

We live in a complex world. All the element are interrelated to each other in a complex intricate pattern. No element can ever sustain on its own. Thus specializing in one field doesn’t make much sense as instead of excelling in it, it restricts one’s complete understanding of it. Studying a variety of course enable a student to analyse a situation critically from various angles. This also aids in understanding the complexity of the problem.

As an illustration, consider the career of an architect. An architect is also called jack of all trades, master of none. She is required to understand the various aspects related to a building from conceptualizing and designing it to understanding the various services , structural aspects and taking care of the construction as well. To attain knowledge and skill to do so, she is required to go through extensive learning of various subjects outside her career scope. This not only enables an architect to manage the different consultants working on the project but also enables her to be aware about the various aspects of the project. Moreover it helps her to make informed decision and changes if required.

Furthermore, knowledge attained in multifarious subjects aids in building up the personality and overall developments of the students. It helps to form various views outside their field of study. She is more aware and informed of the current events. Not to mention, she is more sensitised morally and socially.

In addition, many a times the students are not completely sure of their field of study. By making it mandatory to study subjects outside their career paths gives them a chance to try other career options. And by doing so they may realize their interests in other fields and their true calling. This can enable them to make changes in their career path.

However, mandatory study of various courses should not be restricted only at the university level. It should be provided at all the levels of schooling to provide a chance to students to realize their true passion.

To summarize, attaining a knowledge in a myriad of subjects outside one’s field of study enables one to be up-to-date and understand multiple issues and make better and conscious decisions. Moreover taking such varied courses should be mandatory across all levels of schooling to provide a chance for students to realize their true passion and aid in their personality development.