Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are immoral, illegal and shocking behavior of people that are far from the normal, expected from being part of a society. People often raise eyebrows as the actions by the doer is questionable in the society. It's in the human nature to be attracted to scandals and to gossip. We tend to, more often than not, talk and discuss about such matter at great lengths, thus drawing attention to it. As it is the center of discussion of the public, the issue is magnified exponentially.

No individual is perfect.

Each is flawed with tendency to make mistakes from time to time.Though some mistakes are inconsequential and reversible, others have a deep and larger impact on others and often can't be undone. Scandals come under the category of a mistake which has irreversible consequences and has been caught. Though every person has a choice to go down the right path, many times they are blinded by the attraction of the immoral path.

Scandals do bring to light the problems faced but often they are exaggerated, to satiate to the desires of the public for gossip. Many a times media creates mountains over mole holes to create sensational headlines. Moreover scandals often have a life of a moth. It can only survive until its fed with light, attention in this case.

The moment the light diminishes, so does the life expectancy. Although they do help to draw our attention towards the problems even for a fleeting moment, it doesn't provide with any solutions.Thus I don't agree with the author that scandals are a useful means and ways to bring attention to problems.There are far more effective, legal ways to bring forward the problems instead which can actually help to create the right channels to bring out the reforms.