Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is true that education institutions can not only offer knowledge but also give advice to students. However, this doesn’t meat that they can help students make their career choices. I do not totally agree that educational institutions should ask students quit their certain interest study just because it seems unlikely to success at the beginning. Instead, a good educator should encourage and help students to fulfill their study.

First, I am not denying that teachers are professional in the field of education and giving advice based on their knowledge and experience. For example, I admitted that I have learned and benefited a lot from my teachers, ranging from textbook question solving techniques to social relationship dealing problems. In tests, I used the techniques learned from my teachers to get high grades and the scholarship. In everyday life, I work harmoniously with my colleagues and becomes good friends with them. From taking the advice from my teachers, my life has become more efficient and smoother, because I know how to avoid making same mistakes from my teachers’ precious experience.

Secondly, students should have a resolute mind in pursuing what they want even though being told that they are not going to success. Although teachers might base on their teaching experience to provide a roughly picture of what would a student be in a future, they still don’t need to dissuade students from probable failure in certain area of study. Students should determine their lives by themselves, they are young that they don’t need to afraid of making mistakes at first step, it is better making mistakes that doing nothing. If they just keep learning things they interested in and making process day by day, they are definitely going to success in their interested field of study one day.

In summary, most people think that the major responsibility of educators are offering knowledge and giving sincere advice to students, but another important duty for educators is giving students the help and encouragement when they are in quandary about their future. We should never judge or determine a person’s goal of life by our personal experience, every individual has talents suited for different careers, maybe those who appear unpromising at first are just late bloomers.