Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a divine subject that every student has the right to acquire. Learning of a student can be assessed on various factor but in general paralence, students are made to complete an assessment test to determine their understanding and knowledge on the subject. I agree with the given claim that students learning should not only be assessed based on the grasp of the facts but on their ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate as in the the real world, the implementation of these facts and practical usage is what that generally matters.

To being with, it is pertinent to highlight that the understanding of facts will only lead to clear the examinations or the tests conducted but may not help him in achieving greater heights. For instance, consider a student, Martin, he has been given excellent schooling and has been a brilliant child until his +2. The catch however is that he has only been able to make it to the top due to his basic understanding of the facts. Martin however failed to secure a place in a renowned university due to his failure to explain the ideas, trends or concepts to the interviewer. This is due to the lack of practice of explaining the facts learned. This it is important to not just grasp the facts but having the capacity to explain the concepts and ideas in the general world to achieve greater heights. Provided only if Matin had the capacity to explain the facts he would be able to secure a position in a wellknown univresity.

Secondly, in the real world scenario, on can survive in the market only if he can practically implement his learnings and understandings. For example if a student is told that when salt is mixed with water, the salt completely dissolves into water. The child may completely understand this fact and even has seen it happen. But if he is unable to explain why this phenomenon is apparent or what is the logic behind it, he will not be able to survive in the practical world. It is important that a student should be given an opportunity to understand all the facts and then the capacity to utilise such facts and think and reflect upon them whithout which he shall be of no good use.

However, it is imporant that a student get holistic understading of the concepts in a way he can explain and teach, an excessive importance on the conceptual understanding may degrade few students and may feel less compelled as compared to other students. They may lose the will to learn and they may eventually give up if too much emphasis is placed on the conceptual learning. It is sometimes better of to just know the facts. It may even fetch the poor with some clerical jobs.

Therefore, it shall be wise to conclude that the recommendation made to the Educators to assess the students on the ability to explain the ideas, concepts and trends is true however too much emphasis shall not be placed to an extent that it discourages a student to learn. A holistic approach shall be bestowed on the student considering the age and criteria. Hence the educators shall make sure to assess the students conceptual understanding and not the grasp of facts.