Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Learning starts at a young age and is a vital part of life. There are many different techniques which can be used for learning and impact people differently. Whereas others may choose to reflect from experience and mistakes, the most common education in which an educator explains concepts which have been prioritized for young minds. The most effective way to teach a new subject is explaining its background and purpose, which is why educators should teach facts after having their students study the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Breaking a new subject into small and simple concepts greatly effects the learning threshold for most students. It also has the effect of encouraging thinking independently and curiosity on the subject. A common example of this is showing a short film in a physics class, for example using animals to visualize concepts like velocity or acceleration, which both entertain and provide valuable insight into the subject.

Even though an educator’s main purpose is teaching, it is not impossible to do so while also being entertaining. They should remember how they first approached the subject and how they got so interested in it that they decided to teach it later in life. This passion can be shared with a classroom by providing anecdotes or trends this subject impacted, before cementing the facts in the students’ minds.

However, this can prove difficult when the subject in discussion is highly theoretical or obscure, leading to other teaching techniques which may prove more less student friendly. Thankfully, these types of subjects tend to have their students lose interest for this reason and are therefore rather rare. In any case, it is hard to argue that fully understanding the underlying ideas and concepts is tremendously helpful when approaching a new subject.

Teaching a new subject can be challenging but should be manageable with the right techniques. By first explaining the ideas and concepts surrounding the subject an educator can both make their life easier by easing the students’ learning threshold and make the learning experience more entertaining for the students.