Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Universities play an important role in society, they provide further education for those who seek it. These individuals have made up their mind and chosen a desired career path which requires knowledge about a certain subject. The university staff is responsible for putting together a syllabus, which provides the appropriate skills and knowledge for students to become competitive applicants in their desired field of study, which is why offering a variety of courses outside that field will only serve to diminish the students‘ degree.

While some part ways with their formal education after high school and may settle for a nonspecialized career, others have only just begun to plan their future. There are endless options for life after school and after doing their research and deciding where their interests lie, these individuals have chosen a path. Those who decide to go to university have a concise vision for their future and know how they will get there.

Providing a variety of courses outside a person‘s field of study may lead them astray from their hopes and dreams. Taking an introductory course in another subject may make the grass look greener, as introductory courses are often fairly easy and mainly serve the purpose of providing the basics of a subject. While learning something new is always a treat, this may have a detrimental impact on students, especially those who have chosen to specialize in a difficult subject and may inspire them to change their path.

On the other hand, variety can benefit some fields of study. It might, for example, help an economics major to understand market behavior if they know basic human psychology whereas it would not provide any assistance to a computer scientist or a physicist. However, this should all be taken into consideration when creating the syllabus for a certain subject. The staff of any department in a university will have both practical and theoretical experience of their field and should advise students to take these courses if they believe it will assist their career.

It is important for universities to provide the right tools for their students. A well-constructed syllabus, perfected by professionals after decades of experience in a certain field, is the best assistance a student can receive to help them achieve their career goals, which is why it is unwise to require students to take a variety of courses outside their field of study.