Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether educators should teach facts only after students go through that particular concept. Indisputably, one could say that this just a mere attempt to make the teacher’s job easier. Nevertheless, what they are missing out is the bigger picture and how this could help the students gain better knowledge about the topic. Thus, I mostly agree with the prompt, it is better if students could at least get the slightest idea of the concept which they are going to discuss in the class and this assertion will be backed up by the following reasons.

First of all, by having at least a little knowledge prior to the lecture -- helps the students to develop the interest for that particular subject. I would like to point out that, not only will this make the lecture more interesting but also it helps the students to grasp the maximum knowledge that they could get from the particular lecture. To illustrate with an example, imagine there’s a lecture on String Theory, this could play out in two different ways: one, if the student has made a little research about the string theory prior to the class, he could comfortably get through the entire lecture without any issue. Even when the professor gets into the details deep, the student could at least fathom where the professor getting to. And there’s another scenario, The student has no knowledge about the String Theory whatsoever, even if he’s interested to know there’s only so much that he could grasp from that. Especially, when the professor goes a little too deep in the topic, the student is completely lost from the lecture. In this circumstance, obviously just by getting a little familiar with the topic can get you to stay motivated in the class. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that small research can help you build interest in the subject.

Furthermore, complete reliance on the education system will not give the students the best result that they could get. It is because of the limited time and resources. Just by getting a little glance on the topic they save a lot of time which they could be spending on something little advanced. Imagine, on the regular day school, the particular batch has 4 hours of class in a week, that's 16 hours a month. If the lecture has to spend 4 hours just to get them familiarized with the topic, they are left with just 12 hours for the entire activities which include discussing advance level, doubt clearance, conducting quiz and much more. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that just a little effort from students can help and utilize the time efficiently.

Admittedly, some could argue that knowing a little about the subject prior can cause not harm than good. This could be true in some cases, especially in the field of martial arts, due to the abundance of sources online, a student who tries to little familiarized with the art can be deceived by some not useful source. By practicing the stance from “so-called reliable source” has affected his posture and it definitely has made more harm than good here. But this does not apply to most of the cases.

To conclude, by the support of my evidence above it can be inferred that, By a little effort from the students, it can develop a better learning environment for both students and the teachers.