Essay topics: Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

No one gainsays that to select a good political leadership is important to develop a nation and a society. Indisputably, some individuals argue that it is desirable for the leaders to be less engaged in the public hearing or open communication for the efficiency of the governing process. However, not everyone agrees such idea. In some cases, having a close connection with the public, a national leader can make many positive impacts on the society.

First and foremost, there are some advantages from non-democratic approach in governmental leadership. To be specific, not concerning with public opinions can benefit the efficiency in law legislation and implementation, as it causes a lot of time and effort to reach the agreement in the public. Among people, there are a variety of different ideas, concepts, and oppinions. It will be extremely challenging to draw the concurment among such diverse people. On the contrary, authoritarian leadership can be efficient to determine the solution when it comes to emergency situations. For example, in a war, this kind of leadership can outperform those who always care for others and delay the decision until the public makes agreement. Therefore, public-opinionated policy can be hazardous to the national development and policy-making.

However, what was allued to above cannot be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with those negatives, listening to public opinions certainly contains a number of benefits. Firstly, democratic leadership can reflect various viewpoints from others which the leader might have overlooked at but are equally or more important than the original proposal. This approach can be more comprehensive and inclusive to all people, and therefore people will less complain about it. In addition, as everyone is contend with the governmental policy with their opinion contributed and considered, they will feel happy and willing to follow the leadership. There are more likely to be peace and social rest, which then benefit the stability of governmental leadership. As seen in these examples, the democratic approach can be advantageous for policy-making and national security.

In addition, public contribution to the governmenta policy can generate beneficial by-products. In this way, the political leadership is less likely to fall in corrupted behaviors, such as bribery, embezzlement, or other illegal activities. People are always concerned with political leaders, and therefore the leaders are prone to be consciencious with their mindset and demeanors, because people and the media are watching him or her.

Based on above discussion, there is no denying the fact that democratic leardership may be harmful to efficiency in policy-making and governmental act in the emergency. However, not always is it ineffectvive. There are certainly cases that the democratic style benefits the society, in terms of making comprehensive and inclusive policy to satisty most citizens and making them feel more happy with a nation as well as reducing the leadership corruption. Therefore, we should aim to build up democratic society where citizens are actively involved in communication with the rulers and policy makers.