Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

In a society, there are a number of laws and as individuals who reside in a society, it is our priority and duty to obey all the laws that are formulated by the governing body in the society. As individuals with intellect we may have differing opinions regarding the laws passed but we cannot and should not choose to adhere to a law that may seem just to us and disobey another just because in our opinion it is unjust. Whether a law is just or not is a subjective matter because a law that maybe considered just by a few may not be considered the same by the majority and vice versa.

To further emphasise on the point stated above, take for instance, a law that states that women should be given voting rights. In the Middle Eastern countries as well as in certain less developed countries women do not have an equal status when compared to their male counterparts and therefore assume a secondary or an inferior position in society. Such a law may be deemed to be of a just nature by not just the women of those particular countries but, also by all the women the world over as well as all the groups advocating for equal rights for women everywhere. On the contrary, the same law maybe perceived by the men of those countries to be unjust as it puts women on an equal level as them and hence takes away from their position of superiority.

Another point that can be put forth is that even if a law may be considered to be unjust, it still being a statute having legal connotations needs to be obeyed same as all other laws because disobedience or resistance may lead to punishment for contempt of court. For example, a law that has been passed states that majority communities will be favoured by the government over the minority communities in a state. Clearly it is an unjust law as it gives preference to certain communities over the others because it discriminates among the people of a state. People of the society may protest against it. They maybe successful in their campaign of getting the law changed but until that happens they have to obey it because there are legal sanctions involved and the governing body of the society as all the power to punish the perpetrators for their disobedience.

Thus laws in any society cannot be resisted on the interpretation of various individuals as interpretation and opinions are highly subjective in nature. Living in a society and as part of that society, an individual must adhere to all the laws, irrespective of their personal beliefs and interpretations of a law. Whether a law is just or unjust is something they cannot decide as they are ordinary citizens residing in a society, but it is the task of the legal system sanctioning the law. As individuals of a society, one must obey all the laws prevalent in that society, whether just or unjust.