Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

A number of skills should be mastered over years in order to write a coherent essay. First, one should learn how to identify each letter of the alphabet individually. Then, one learns that those letters should be placed in specific ways to form words. In increasingly complex processes, one learns how to write sentences, paragraphs, and finally how to write an essay through the organization of his arguments in paragraphs, following a train of thought.

In a similar fashion, people can only achieve their goals by designing and following a plan with steps that ultimately lead to the accomplishment of their objective. However, one must take into account that it is necessary to develop certain skills along the way, and that many of those skills require the mastery of certain pre-requisites. For instance, one does not learn how to swim without learning how to escape from sinking beforehand.

In this sense, I disagree completely with the statement that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits. Formal education has a pivotal role in enabling people to develop basic skills that help them identify and pursue their aspirations.

One could argue that formal education discourages free thinking due to its reliance on lectures based on a fixed curriculum. However, this objection does not take into account that one of the role of schools is to provide a basic repertoire of general knowledge to students -- and this objective creates the necessity of a basic minimum curriculum for everyone.