Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials are appointed to maintain peach in the society by working for the welfare of people but it doesn’t mean that poeple can boss around them. They should cooperate with each other to build a better society. The prompt suggests that rather following unquestioningly the will of people they serve, government officials should depend on their own judgement. I partially agree with this prompt for the following reasons.

Government officials are given their position and power to work for the betterment of people they serve. So, they are obliged to consider the welfare of the population whereas people’s will can be subjective. There can be a case where people’s opinion are divided and if in such cases government officials tries to follow the will of people than there will be a chaos in the society. Without getting swayed by individual’s will, government officials should make decisions considering the overall welfare and future of the society.

However, the task of government officials is to think from people’s point of view and take a middle ground to people’s will and better decision for the society. But if a government official starts to only think from his perspective and judge situations from his point of view than the decisions made by any official may fail to help people to get what they need instead can harm them. For example, a governemnt official who don’t live near a river but thinks a bridge over a river may bring prosperity to that area and don’t take into considerations that what consequences people of such areas might have to face due to this decision and may end up destroying the lives of people of that area.

Furthermore, it can increase corruption if a government official is always allowed to follow his own judgement. As known these officials are media between the people and the government, so if they stop considering needs of people it will result to shuting down the screams of people. Some corrupted officials may use this opportunity to collid with powerful people to climb the ladder of success and only satisfy their needs. In this scenario, the people will be left unheard and fall into eternal sufferings though government officials were appointed to bring peace to them.

In conclusion, it can not be said that government officials should only follow their own judgement or unquestioningly follow the will of the people rather a middle ground must be followed by them. Their ultimate goal should be the welfare of people or the society not any selfish motives should be included. Maintaining a balance between these two directions, chaos can be avoided in the society.