Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While society keeps developing fast, officials’ will be not a secret in front of the people owing to the Internet. Also, their judgment becomes open and reachable to the public through all kinds of media. When should the officials carry out the decision on their own and when should they listen to the will of the public depend largely on their country’s institution feature and situation.

It is almost impossible for government officials to put forth people’s will without question it, although every official promise to follow and represent the people’s wish when election. The nature of the politic tolerant tricks in its arena where allow a politician to play in and out of the game. Also, the statement seems right when in an emergency, accepting people’s will and implement it will make the policy end up in confusion and chaos because too many individuals’ ideas come up based on their benefits. For example, when the Fukushima nuclear power plant accident happens, many residents did not want to leave home even exposed to the highly dangerous radioactivity. An adult stayed in his house because his dog lost, a school’s principal went back to school because he wanted to bring the medals which supposed to grant graduation student. In this situation, the governor’s chosen to ask residents to leave no matter in what situation and forced to implement as an order saved thousands of lives. Imagine if the governor did not order people to leave instead of schedule a meeting, and follow the each will of resident, such as, to get the medals back, or to find the pet dogs, and so on, the situation in Fukushima would be an even bigger disaster. Therefore, in an emergency, the officials should carry out the policy own their professional judgment.

While the governors can have the opportunity to put his will as a policy, listening to a person who can represent many people’ idea is significant. Those representatives are lawyers, professors, activists, doctors and so on because when the officials lost in the game of money and power in politic the game, the voice from society can put them back to their real mission from self-indulge. Without listening to the opinion from society, the official will lose his credit in front of the people to the point where threaten his long-term position. Take environmental problems, for example, if an official wants to build a dam in a community without listening to the residents’ opinion, the plan will fail eventually. Even he successfully with his own will, he will lose his power because of the continuing protest from residents. Therefore, the policy should be carried out base on the public or show public opinions.

However, in the situation that the dictatorship’s country, it still happens many cases that the ruler set the policy without knowing the people’s wish. This kind of condition is many other countries and international NGO trying to help to inspire those local people because the rule will not keep his power forever and take advantage of their people in a civilized society.

To sum up, in an emergency when people lost their judgment, the officials should need to help their people to make the right decision. In another situation, before implementing the policy, the official should listen to people’s idea first.