Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a democratic country like India, where the government is of the people, by the people and for the people, it is crucial to take into consideration the will of the people. Whether this holds for all the issues of all the individuals is debatable and a clear cut decision can be made only after analysis.

If a government official is elected, he must be suitable for the task he’s chosen for. He must possess some qualities that he could make it to the position he holds today. So, he relying on his own judgment seems completely justified. Like it’s said with experience come wisdom, and these officials only become wiser with years of experience in dealing with people’s problems. People’s will and demands are not always pragmatic. It is at such times, that their own judgment proves to be sounder than the masses illegitimate demands. Also there are times when different groups of people present completely opposite desires. It is not practically feasible for a government official to take into account the will of every individual. Here again, it’s the best for the official to rely on his judgment. Another point to be taken care of is that not always do these will of people abide by the country’s laws. Under such circumstances, an official must make a decision based on his prior experience and knowledge.

But there are loopholes to this too. There are times when the legitimate demands of the masses go unheard. The government officials too are humans and so can make errors. There are times when the laws need to be reformed and for an official, abiding by the laws won’t be a just thing to do. In such a scenario, it is important that the will of the people be heard. If not accepted as it is, it must at least be considered before coming to any conclusion.

To sum up, government officials are wise enough to make a judgment based on their past experiences but completely ignoring the will of the people won’t be fair on their part.