Government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Scientific researches are mostly carried out in a cloud of dust particles where no one can predict its result/consequences. Before carrying out a research program a scientist needs to do a prognosis of his research topic. Its true that having a consequence idea in mind before it occurs can help to circumvent hefty damages to both pocket and time. But it does not mean that government should not fund any researches whose consequences are unclear.

Firstly validation of a research result could only be done when it is carried out successfully under favorable time and funding constraints. Result might differ at the end stage of its process due to funding issue which is plays a major rule. Using latest technology always helps a researcher to do his work without any chances of machine error. Foretelling results of research can never be always true. Once every stage of research got carried out then only its result is crystal clear to both facility and researcher.

In addition to this i would like to say that every hustler needs a little push at early stage. Newton, Einstein or Stephen hawking everyone was once a hustler in their early phase of researches. If they were not supported by any financial body or government when they were at the early stage of their researches, their efforts would have gone totally in vain.

Without their inventions, science would have remained exclusive to the elite, and the world would not have a Newton or Einstein.

Thirdly, being not supported financially could bring a big impact on technology terms. Having old stage processor computer in a researcher laboratory will create a sinister for the entire process. Losing confidence in research at the last stage of process just because of technical fault due to lack of funding will always demotivate the researcher and will compel him to leave his field at any cost.

Sometimes human error might effect the research which will put back the government in deciding whether to give fund to that particular research team or not. Funds are very crucial for both research team and government, not using it effectively will not be a good sign for the scientific field development. Concluding the given facts government should fund every research which have a potential to thrive in every circumstance without finding it result whether they are clear or not.