Governments are not justified in circumventing civil laws in the name of national security

Civil laws are important for humane treatment of all the citizens of a nation. These laws provide fundamental rights to people of all backgrounds in most countries. Civil laws are protected by the constitution and it is extremely difficult to amend these laws under normal circumstances. However, in a lot of countries, these laws can be exploited under the banner of national emergency or national security. Governments are not justified in circumventing civil laws in the name of national security. Compromising civil laws can have detrimental effects on the future of a nation. It can even lead to military coups and lead the way for authoratrian regimes.

In recent history, there were many attempts across the world to suspend civil laws under the banner of national security. Some of the countires like Iraq succeded while others like Pakistan (1999) and Turkey (2016) failed to do so. A lot of countires in the middle east have still not recovered from the irrational decisions made by their governments. These countries are in total shambles today. When government suspends civil laws for the sake of national security, we often see massive protests. People destroy the public property and lawlessness in the country increases. The government orders the military to supress people’s voice- this is how dictators are born. Government are servants of the people and they should respect people’s mandate but unfortunately, in many countires, people don’t have a choice.

Suspending civil laws is not necessarily the right approach to protect the national security. During a national emergency, the government suspends the internet, controlles the media and imposes curfew on the people. The people don’t trust their own government. In such a situation, people demand independence from the regime. This paves the way to militant groups. Uproar in Kashmir, Ukraine are testimony to this claim

In conclusion, government can never be justified for suspending civil laws under any circumstance. People deserve to know what is going on in the country and government should try to work with people and not sideline them.