Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The military is the lifeblood of a nation. The defender of its territories in time of war. little wonder that the respect garner by a country in the comity of nations can be directly link to the strength of its military base and as such demand for government to heavily invest in its because such investment is linked to the security of her people and properties.Likewise, arts reflect a way of peoples life, crux of their culture and as much deserve a worthy investment. Although the arts deserve more investment than the military owing to its comparative advantage over military

Nonetheless, nothing propagates, reform and inform outsider about a nation more than the arts- music,ma hies etc. for instance, Nigeria has a population of over 150 millions and one of the strongest military bases in the world yet, the arts has been a source of revenue for her finances. the revenues generated from music and movie industry which are the basis of arts supersedes that of the oil which is the country mainstay.e image

The art is a vital tool for redeeming the image of a society or country. In Brazil. music is at the epicenter of the nations culture. Along with football, music has tremendously help the fledgling nation to create a positive image for her people. It can also be used to propagates against negative social vices such as rape, women abuse, gender inequality and other issues that are pose threat for survival and unity in a 21st century.

Moreover the art is a platform for creating sustainable unity. this is particular to the African people who suffer multiple identity crisis owing to tribal differences. The music and their movies are good tool to create a sense of individualism and patriotism along ethnic divide. Any emerging or developing nation should invest more on arts than military since such country does not or should not be expected to go in to war which can further push the country down. art encompasses history. history is a vital ingredient in the growth of a nation. this allow younger generation to know more about their heroes; their values, struggles and unparallel achievement.

Military and arts are no doubt a vital component of a country and as such deserve heavy commitment and investment on the path of government. conclusively, i have provide ample reasons to disagree with the recommendation that governments should invest more in arts than in military.