Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government are criticized for many different aspects and actions. no matter what, and this assertion is a particular example. The alternatives in the statement are not (rather, should not!) be at contrast because of the importance of both for a country. Art encourages the overall layout and creativity of a nation or province whereas, military is the major pillar of security of one. Here comes in play the circumscribed union budget, which is not addressed in the statement but plays a much crucial role in determining the investment in a particular segment, in a given year.

Art defines the aesthetic outlook of the country while military aims in protecting and providing security to the people. Amount of investment in art and military is not supposed to have a direct correlation: it is a mere case of circumstances and country's economical as well as geographical standing. For instance, if a nation has diabolical neighboring countries or is approaching a war like situation, their primary concern would be protecting their people and the country and enhancing the artistic domain. In such case, the government should not be forced or approached to invest equally in art and military.

On the contrary, during a situation of economic crisis or a situation which needs bolstering their financials; the government would rather focus on art and similar aspects which directly modulates the economics conditions: as art would bring in tourists, and foreign investments. During such situation, the government should restrict their spending on military accordingly.

Pressuring or castigating the governments plan or budget on the basis of comparing investment in art and military is not only the perspective: as there are many other factors convoluted. Above stante recommendations would help increasing flexibility and stability over time.

Determining just on the basis of art and military is not sufficient and making a strict protocol is would stringent the prosperity of citizens even more. So, government should decide the investment in art and military based on their current situation and position among other nations of the world in order to thrive and provide their citizens better life.