Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Science and scientists played a very crucial role in human development . We come far ahead from our ancestors due to continuous researches done in diverse areas . Today’s human went to the moon and now we are planning for Mars. Over the period our research horizon increased and we have done a myriad of experiments . Among them some are evidently successful and some are total disasters bringing no value to human society . Therefore , in the contemporary world many people argue that governments should stop funding the research whose outcome is unclear , however the rest of people go averse to it . I see eye to eye with the central idea for the various reasons which will be elucidated in the following paragraph with an apt example .

To begin , research is not the only aspect which should only focus on , especially when research is not bound to produce appropriate results . The residents have other crucial needs like a better education system , transportation , water and food etc . At the cost of this previously stated crucial need , if the government funds the research department then it will not bring any good to the community of their nation. For instance , consider the country X who is heavily investing on the research on mass while their half of residents don’t are below poverty line and they hardly find healthy food and potable water to drink . It is pretty evident from the above example that this research investment which done make one nation to put in space competition by ignoring their nation requirement will not bring any advantage.

Moreover , every research has positive and negative outcomes . Without not knowing its possible consequences , investing money is like gambling with taxpayers money . For example , Abundance of nations invested money in research which promised to cure cancer . But after experiments completed and experiment started , it was identified that this medication definitely cures cancer but indulges in drugs which makes their body more prone to heart attack . Due to which this cure was declared cancelled and governments of many nations lost their money . Therefore , before investing government should form committee with an experts and scientist of their field which can predict possible outcome with their analysis power and reduce chances of wasting money of taxpayers.

On the logger's head , some critics will argue that Research is what leads to innovation. Everything we have or use today came from someone's research either directly as a consequent of the research or indirectly. For example, the invention of the microwave was done when scientists were researching microwaves for communication purposes . Hence, sometimes the Government should fund such research which might lead to innovations that help humanity.

Hammering the last nail , the decision to fund research is very complex and it depends upon a lot of factors. If the consequences of a research can be predicted and is positive, then the Government should fund them but if, the implications are negative or the consequences are unclear, then it might Government might be required to prevent funding such research. Hence, I mostly agree with the prompt and think that Government should not fund research with unclear consequences.