If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable

The end goal of any enterprise is to make money either by selling its products or through the services offered to clients. Any profitable business will have one product or service that they concentrate on more to make sure that their mainstream business is not affected. However, the argument asserts that doing something is always more important than the final product of the company. I disagree with the claim for two particular reasons.

Admittedly, enterprises should also spend time and money on developing new products, but this should not be their main focus. If the resulted work is a huge success and after careful considerations and testing, the new services can be chipped in as a service to its customers. However, if it spends too much amount of money and resources by making more people working on the "unguaranteed success" keeping aside the guaranteed revenue generated process, the firm may risk its value to the public.

However, not all the firms which are profitable need to spend time and other resources on research. For example, consider any law firm that serves its clients based on the. There is no big element of research here that a law firm needs to do other than catching up on the latest precedents if any. So, instead, they should focus their energy on more sure-shot revenue-generating processes like acquiring new clients, spending more time in re-reading the rules and regulations, and keeping up to date. If the firms were able to do this successfully, they can be more successful than their competitors in the ever-growing market.

Working and devoting more time to something random or even a full-fledged idea may not always result in success and enterprises have to keep this in mind. Consider the renowned industry leaders Microsoft and Apple. The main business of Microsoft Inc. is to provide software to its customers throughout the world, and selling phones is the arsenal of Apple Inc. But a few years ago, Microsoft entered the mobile market by bringing their Windows phone. For sure, the product isn't bad. It is just that people did not accept windows as an operating system for their mobile phones. As a result, the windows phone was a disaster. And since Microsoft has huge cash reserves (because of its dominance in offering its main business), it was able to withstand such an incident. Had it been a small enterprise making aggressive steps to sustain itself in the market instead of advertising and spending resources on their already well-established product, the company would have been long gone.

Every enterprise wants to be at the top of its market by competing with its competitors. And they can sustain in the market by making sure they spend just enough of their resources on research and on new products such that their mainstream business will not get impacted by this.