In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is the form in which an artist can skillfully express his or her thoughts. The argument in the prompt argues, for any art to have recognition, it has to be understood by most people. Although to recognize the value of the art, one must understand to appreciate it, it might not be true in every case. Hence I mostly disagree with the claim for two reasons.

Admittedly, to be recognized as good art, people have to understand it well in the first place. For any art, be it a movie or a song, one has to be able to identify elements that make the art unique and special. Take for example the movie "Interstellar". Although during its initial run in the first week of its release, the film did not perform hugely at the box office, people who watched the movie realized its values ​​as one of the best space movies ever made and they soon began to popularise the movie by telling their friends and family. Soon, the film that had a dry run in the first phase, went on to register as the second-highest grosser of all time. So, unless people spread a positive word about the art, it might not have the recognition, and for the "initial fire", some people should be able to recognize and understand its value.

However, in the modern world that is filled with numerous languages ​​and with the advent of social media and the internet, recognizing a good art form in any place has been a piece of cake. Once the art got its initial recognition locally, people can make it viral over the night using their social media. For example, the famous pop song "Gangnam Style" that was released in the early 2010s made a revolutionary impact throughout the world without any language barrier. People from all over the world started to listen to the song albeit mostly they have no clue of what the song meant. The same phenomenon can be also observed in the recent french song "Despacito" which later went on to create a record for the most-watched video on the famous social media platform "YouTube ". So, even if the piece of art is incomprehensible to many people, art can still have recognition.

Moreover, people will themselves have the eagerness to learn about the unknown art once it has become popular enough. For example, consider arguably the world's best painting "Monalisa" by Leonardo Da Vinci. At a very first glance by any clear-headed mind might that does not know the value of the painting might not reveal the greatness and the depth of the masterpiece. But upon knowing the value of the art, and looking keenly into the picture again, one can truly appreciate the value.

In conclusion, any form of art, be it a song, movie, or novel, to have recognition and merit, need not be understood by most people. Once the art has become popular enough, people will have the enthusiasm to learn about the work and can appreciate its value.