The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older , since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is about an article in a magazine that says that people should prefer Clearview as their first priority for their retirement. The author of the argument comes to this conclusion by citing lowering of the houses, low taxes, new programmes of improvement, and excellent healthcare as reasons for his assertion. However, the author's conclusion is bases on three unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated , dramatically weaken and perhaps invalidate the author's claim.

First, the author readily assumes that the last year's low pricing of the houses will stay put this year too. However, there is no substantive evidence to support this claim. It is possible that the last year's low pricing is an effect of the that led to lowering of the prices throughout the world. If this is the case, it might even be possible that there can be a heavy increase in the cost of the houses to compensate for the last year's losses. If this is the case, then the authors contention that people should prefer Clearview as their choice of retirement will not have any merit.

Secondly, the author, without any justification, assumes people should prefer Clearview because of its low taxes. However, the author did not mentioned any data that compares this so called "low taxes" with the rest of the country. It is plausible that the taxes in and around the Clearview region are the highest in the country by a large amount and Clearview is just better among the near ones. If this is the case, people will not prefer Clearview as their choice of retirement.

Even if the above mentioned arguments hold true, the author perhaps takes a big leap by asserting that citizens should choose Clearview because of the mayors promise to several improvement programmes to improve schools and other public services. But it is possible that Mayor of the Clearview is just citing these to entice people to vote him for the upcoming election. Once he regains his position of the Mayor, he might not resort to his claims. Also, even if the Mayor's intention to improve the conditions of Clearview are true, it is totally possible that Clearview does not have enough funds to support. And the in order to attract more customers to the community, the article is published as a mere advertisement. If any of the arguments have merit, then the authors assertion of mayor's promises would be just hopes of wishful thinking and not solid reasons for the citizens to pick Clearview.

To conclude, the argument as it stands now is significantly flawed. Had the author supported his claims by providing solid evidences of the reasons for the low pricing last year, the overall taxing of the nation when compared to Clearview, and the reasons for citing the mayors promises, they would bolster the author's claims. Unless the author provides the mentioned details, it is hard to come to a conclusion about Clearview as the people's choice of retirement.