A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The progress of the human race towards a better society depends of the current generation of kids. Education is one primary thing that will enhance the knowldge and help the child become a person in the society. And governments strive to achieve this by a formal education. and the curriculum is what helps to acheive this goal. The claim argues that goverments should have impose a common curriculum throughout the nation. While having a common curriculum would have its own merits, there are some serious flaws in this system, if not carefully examined, can undermine the whole concept of "common curriculum". I would therefore disagree with the claim and support my view with the following 2 reasons.

First of all, if the government decides to adhere to the same curriculum throught out the country, then the immdiate question to answer is who prepares the curriculum? Is it the local representavie or the higher official whose ideas may not actually represent a . This is inturn defeat the whole purpose of having the same syllabus. Even if the government decides to have the curriculum designed by the representatives of each state, will this process be fair and will it acutally help the cause?

One more adverse effect of having one curriculum can be students losing total interst in education upon imposing this one nation one curriculum. Every student may have voracious interests right from their early age, maybe because of their parent's influence, or they want to follow the path of their idols or maybe they just don't like some subjects. And having a common curriculum would require a broad range of topics from philosophy, political science, computer science, etc. And implementing this one curriculum would make the students go through the subjects he/she is never interested in. A kid interested in . And it might be the case that most of the students fear of losing their time and money on the things that do not motivate them and this might even lead to completely abandoning their education. Hampering a child's education is one thing any government cannot risk.

That said, there are certain advantages to the "one nation - one curriculum" agenda. Firstly, it gives the young kids to get introduced to vast number of . And moreover being educated does not guarentee that the person will be able to grow up and live upto the mark in the society. Just because a person is a great at scince, need not mean he can uderstand the basics of finance that is requred to any human. And including finance as a subject might help in alliviating this problem. So, as a whole the concept of one curriculum can work if it only takes the "basic" elements needed for the child to survives in this ever growing world and leave the rest to the child himself.