The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The human race has come a long way from the very early man's society. A nation's progress and prosperity depend on the current generation of young people. Therefore every nation should prepare its young generation for a better society. The argument in the prompt asserts that society has to instill a cooperative-based mechanism rather than a competitive one in the minds of the current generation's kids. I agree with the prompt for two reasons.

Admittedly, I do concede that a healthy competitive spirit will bring the best in some scenarios. For example, a school science fair competition which awards only the first prize for the best project. Every student tries to be the best to achieve this prize. This sort of mechanism is required in the child's early life to make him realize the importance of being the best and how it can impact the people around him.

However, the real world is not that simple. Every government and industry is very complex and to achieve a balance and a smooth-running, cooperation is the key. For example, if we look at how a nation works on a higher level, there are the police, engineers, lawyers, and doctors. For example, if an accident had taken place and to catch the wrong ones, the police departments come into the picture, and the doctors save the injured by operating, the lawyers take care of the legal issues. Had any of the departments did not cooperate well and worked independently, the issue would not have been solved and justice would not have been achieved.

Secondly, with the current global scenarios and events in the play, it is clear that we are going to face numerous problems for our survival. Ranging from the increase in the emission of carbon dioxide, increase in global warming, depletion of natural and renewable resources, it is high time that we, as one race, have to protect our mother earth. And to do so, all the leaders throughout the world have to arrive at a consensus on the plans to live a happy and peaceful life. In these inexorable scenarios, if the leaders of the nation were not prepared and accustomed to this cooperative mechanism, things are going to be very bad.

In conclusion, a cooperative environment is necessary for the leaders of the next generation for making the earth and habitable place. Yes, without competition, a free-market economy cannot work at its full strength. So, healthy competition along with cooperation when required is needed for making the earth a better place for tomorrow.