If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In both hypothetical and practical realms, there has been heated discussion about whether the ultimate goal or the means to achieve the goal is more important. Some people argue that as long as the goal is worthy, then any means taken to achieve it can be justified. While, others claim that unless the approaches are just, any achievement getting from it would be worthless. This essay is going to argue that, apart from suffering from life threat, the means taken to achieve the goal worth more than the goal itself, because morality and honesty are more precious than people’s achievements.

First of all, it is unjustified to sacrifice morality for big fortune or high status. For example, when considering the economic development, some small enterprises or even countries might choose to destroy the environment in order to prioritise their economy. Such irresponsible behaviours lead to the deforestation of the Amazon forest and water pollution of the oceans. Those entities might argue that as long as the goal of economic development is achieved, the environmental issues can be ignored. However, this argument is extremely shortsighted. The environment is actually one of the most invaluable resources that can lead to titanic profits if utilised properly. Hence, in lots of cases, using unhonored approaches to achieve short-term goal would actually result in regretful consequences which contradicts the long-term goal.

Secondly, in the realm of academia, academic honesty is definitely prioritised over any other goals, such as getting foundings and making papers published. This is because researchers and professors are generally believed by laypeople, and therefore if they make striking and exaggerated statements in order to attract attention, other people will seldom doubt their assertion and follow their advice. The negative influence is demonstrated by an unfortunate example. Some professors pretend that they have invented a new medicine which could cure diseases, but actually the treatment effect of that medicine is not significant under experimental condition. Then lots of people believe those researchers and rely purely on that medicine, postponing the genuine effective treatment. As a result, they either lost their lives or spending longer period to recover. Whence, it is crucial that academic honesty should be placed before any other goals.

Nevertheless, there are certain circumstances that the means taken are less significant than the utmost goal. One such occasion is when people’s lives are in danger. For example, if an animal is threatening people’s lives, then it is justifiable to kill the animal even if it’s an endangered species. If the museum is on fire, the primary goal would be to get out of the building even if

there are valuable exhibitions in the museum. Notwithstanding, the aforementioned scenarios are such extreme cases that people seldom face in their normal lives. Hence, in general, achieving the utmost goal would never be the rudimentary concern, there will always be more important elements, such as morality, responsibility, and honesty.

To summarise, this essay has argued that even if a goal is worthy, people should, in most cases, never adopt inappropriate means to attain it. Especially, morality and honesty are things that should never be sacrificed for the sake of achieving the goal. However, there indeed exist some situations when the goal, such as survival, weighs more than the means taken to attain it. Further studies could be conducted on establishing laws or cultures to ensure that morality is not lost even when people are facing life threat.