Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

It can be said that imagination is one of the most valuable assets in this era. Imagination is the ability to create something that has not been existed before, whereas the experience is the ability to achieve something that have been existed in the world (e.g., knowledges, social experiences, etc.). As the approach to the knowledge become more and more accessible by the development of the internet and means of transportation, the value of the ability to coming up with the new idea which nobody have thought before become more important. According to this trend, some people argue that sometimes imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. They assumed that people who lack experience are free to imagine without constrains of established habits and attitudes. In this modern era where the creating new idea is more spotlighted than the achieving previous knowledge, this argument has its own benevolent aspects, but I disagree with the argument because of the following two reasons.

First, every imagination is possible based on the things that have previously existed, so it is severely difficult to exercise one's imagination without the previous experiences. For example, let's think that someone try to design new and fresh formation of house. For this, it is true that imagination for thinking out the difference from the previous houses is needed in the last stage of the design. However, like it is impossible to build the house without the blocks and hammer, the experiences of seeing and living a variety of houses are needed from just before the last stage of the design. Similarly, imagination cannot be created upon the blank paper. Imagination is the work that adding the last new thing to the previously painted complex picture.

Second, even if the new idea was created, it cannot be judged whether it is the really new idea without experience. Moreover, it cannot be discussed whether it is the valuable idea in the world. For example, if a scientist came out with the new hypothesis, she/he cannot decide whether or not someone already has proved it, unless she/he review the previous researches. In addition, even if it is the new idea, it can be happened that there is no value to prove that hypothesis. Likewise, to make decision about the idea crated by imagination, the experiences of the previous things are necessary.

People with ample imagination can create the better results on the basis of the same experience. However, it is difficult to create something valuable without the background experience. Therefore, I recognize that imagination can be one of the valuable assets in this modern era, but it can be hasty conclusion that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.