The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo, the vice president of a food company, argued that the company should use Buzzoff company for the pest control again, rather than continuously use the current Flay-Away company. There are some assumptions in support of the argument need to be examined before the company make their decision.

First, the company should check the pest control situations of the food storages in several other cities. The vice president claimed the superiority of Buzzoff company based on the fact that Buzzoff company succeeded in pest control in one city (Wintervale) than what the flay-way company did in the other city (Palm city). However, as it said in the question, the company have storages in several other cities. Therefore, there is the need to concern the overall performances of two companies in all food storages.

Second, for the indifferent examination of two pest control companies, the more information about the environments of two different cities (i.e., Wintervale and Palm city) should be offered. The vice president hastily made generalization that the environment or conditions would be same in two different cities based on the data for only a one last month. However, several questions need to be answered to verify her/his assumptions: have the results of the pest damage been same for several months or years?; are the foods stored in the warehouses are same?; most importantly, are the environments which determines the difficulties of pest control identical for two cities? The company should check the questions because if one of the them were proved to be not, the reliability of the argument would be seriously affected.

Third, the more detailed price comparison between the costs for the company and the lost of money for the destroyed food. The vice president assumed that even though the Fly-Away company promised the considerably lower price, the lost costs resulted from the less effective pest controls would be larger than the difference in the money for using company. However, if the overall lost costs from the all storages in several other cities are not significantly larger than the expenses to use Buzzoff company, the significance of the claim for using them would be significantly undermined.