It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic can be interpreted from different angles for examining the threats and harms that might happen by compromising one's own beliefs. Indubitably, one's own belief in different aspects of this world and life is the most important asset one can have. Nevertheless, it is a good choice for oneself to put in another's shoes and see, experience and think in a completely different direction. Hence, I believe that it is not harmful to compromise one's own beliefs that to adhere to them.

First of all, sticking to one's own beliefs to perceive different aspects of life and world is a very self-centric way to live a life. One's beliefs are made from his past experiences and the way in which he perceives the world surrounding him. To illustrate, a carpenter will try to solve every problem with a hammer. In such circumstances, even if there are better ways to see a problem and situation in a different way, one is biased to stick to his beliefs. Definitely, he can survive by living with these beliefs but he would never come to know other ways to live a life, to tackle his problems, to get new experiences. He would be a frog in a well for whom, the well is the whole world and beyond the well, there is nothing to learn and experience. Consequently, adhering to one's belief will only cut down the size of the world to live in oneself.

Additionally, overcoming one's beliefs will give exposure to new perspectives and directions to look and feel things in completely different manner. For example, learning ways to socialize with an introvert will help him out more with his personality and to feel connected to this world rather than just believing some that introverts cannot socialize. In this aspect, the sky is the limit because one is not limited to a set of beliefs to live with. Furthermore, people with cabbage minded thinking can be seen in many television shows who only know how to criticize the happenings around the world and always be coming to the same conclusion that achieving success is not a cup of cake yet alone moving not a single thing to achieve something. Apparently, it is more harmful to stick to one's set of beliefs if one does not know whether it is good or bad for him.