Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places

Laws means some regulations that are required to conduct the state in a systematic way. The main purpose of the laws is to establish the justice so that everyone in the country can have their rights and get chance to lead their lives in a legal way. So, strict imposition of laws is very important for the development of the country. That’s why, I mostly disagree with the statement that laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places.

First of all, the development of a country is dependent on whether the denizens of the country are getting equal rights or not. If laws become flexible, one portion of the population will use the flexibility for their own sake and the other portion will be deprived. Consequently, the main purpose of the laws will be failed and the peace of the society will be perturbed. For example, in Bangladesh, the members of the ruling party use the power of the administration for their own sake and earn money in an illegal way. They possess lands of the public in illegal way who are unable to protest and force them so that public can’t file a case against them. However, this is the situation in Bangladesh where administrative power is nothing but the helping hand of the leaders. If laws become flexible in countries like Bangladesh there will be no way for the citizens to escape the tyranny. This phenomenon indicates the necessity of strict imposition of laws.

Secondly, if laws become flexible, people will lose the trust and respect to the legal system of the country which will be responsible for increasing crimes and corruptions in the society. For example, in Russia, since legal system is weak and the police force are not sincere is unable to provide good protection to the businesses and security to the citizens. As a result, it causes a enervated economy. Once again, it becomes lucid that laws should not be flexible rather it should be strict.

Finally, it is true that the legal system is changing worldwide to keep pace with the changing political, economical and social system. But, it has to be done in a way so that the rights of the people can be distributed equally without any discrimination. Furthermore, the amendment of laws should be done in a constitutional way. For example, in democratic countries at least two third of the members of the parliament required to give their support to amendment any law.

In summary, from the above analysis and examples it is completely unambiguous that laws should not be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.