Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

A man starts to learn since the day he is born and the process continues till the last breath. The notion of learning being a matter of personal discipline put forward by the argument is something that agree to, but I believe that school and college still play a large role to develop that discipline. So, in my opinion, one’s personal discipline to learn is complemented by the educational institutes.

The standard and tedious curriculum of the schools and colleges cannot transform a obstinate mind to absorb something that he or she does not wants to. If the student is not properly disciplined to learn and tenacious in attitude, the long hours spent for reading through the books might not provide any output . For example, there are a large number of people who are admitted each year to good schools or colleges, but finally they either dropout in between or pass through with superficial learning.

Discipline is something that is inherently present in some students and when they are admitted to school or colleges, their upbringing plays a large role in how they perform at the competitive level. For example, a child learns the discipline to walk, observe and understand from his/her parents and when he/she is admitted to school, teachers carry forward the progress. Thus, in majority of cases schools at primary level has the right environment set to instill a sense of discipline in the students that they embrace for rest of their lives.

In conclusion, I believe that while learning without personal discipline is not possible, schools and college can assist in developing that sense of discipline.