The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A good leader is someone who takes his team forward along with himself. The notion put forward by the argument that instilling a sense of cooperation instead of competition among the young people can prepare them for leadership role, is something that I agree to, but refrain to completely support because of its 'all and nothing' nature. While it is unquestioned that synergies achieved in any environment can do wonders, a healthy competition can sometimes add to the excellence.

The role of a leader is not just to achieve the best he could do, but to get best out of the team he is entitled to. If the leader is well versed with training methodologies and co-operate well among its team the output will be more that what can be achieved by individual efforts.

Also, competition in a workplace can lead individual to involve in malpractices and treachery to get through their way. There have been numerous instances where an individual's pine for power has led to the downfall of the complete organisation.

However, in a healthy competition leaders when subjected to tough environment can be moulded in a better way. For example, in a democratic nation, leaders are elected through polls, wherein the parties involved have to be at their best so as to come to power. In such a scenario, the feeling of healthy competition can help shape the motives of the leaders. Competitive spirit in these instances is important to keep things under check.

In conclusion, it is important that a leader co-operates well among his disciples/ team member and thrive to compete to prove its superiority.