The main benefit of study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantlly different from people who lived in earlier times.

History innvolves the study of what has occured in the past. Studying History is beneficial because it helps us to improvise ourselves and makes us aware about the mistakes which we have done in the past, gviving us a sense of assurance the such mistakes will not be repeated in near future. I agree to the given statement that the main benefit of study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantlly different from people who lived in earlier times. The reasons to agree on this statement are the basic human nature and the inherent feelings which remain the same. The laws and regulations which developed in the past are still followed and accepted. And the modes of entertainment are still nearly the same with some addition. On these grounds i agree on the given statement. The study of history brings an individual from a state of ignorance to a state of enlightenment. Thus, making the study of history a crucial part to develop and evolve.

To begin with, The basic human nature will always remain the same. The same values and morals which have been carried along from decades. The basic human nature, emotions and feelings like affinity towards the opposite gender, discipline and equality which were followed by our predecessors and will be followed by the succesors as well. Human nature like ego, politeness, respect for the country., Love for the parents and relatives and also a feeling of security with the close ones have been followed since centuries. And which will be the same till many coming years. So, with this point i would like to stenghten my agreement.

Secondly, The laws and regulations which were implemented in the past are still intact and the citizens of today still abide to the same laws and principles with some development according to the changing times. For instance, the policies of new government formation after a tenure of four to five years is still followed. Also, the laws for the criminals which were decided according to the intensity of crime are still the same. This point augments my agreement to the given statement.

Thirdly, The modes of entertainment which originated long ago are the same modes of entertainment for todays people. Movies, theatre and play were the main modes of entertainment which are still enjoyed by todays generation. Also, sports like football, cricket and eminent events like olympics are enjoyed by the people till date. In the past, communication was done through letters and pigeons. Transport and travel were done with the help of camels, elephants and horses. Today in the 21st century due to human evolution and implementation of technology, The modes have evolved but the roots are still the same. in todays world, Internet and mobile phones are used for communication and automobiles, planes and ships are used for travel and transport but these technologies have the evolved from those similar enchoate roots. On these grounds i would like to support my agreement to the given statement.

Thus, History not only makes us more pragmatic and experienced but also makes us aware about the mistakes which have been done in the past. Just as a tree which grows with age to a height from the ground but yet is being supported by the roots, same is in the case of history, the roots have bolstered our present and fortify our coming future. So, i would like to conclude that the main benefit of study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantlly different from people who lived in earlier times.