An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument claims that, in order to eradicate the vitamin A deficiency among the people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, the government organization of Tagus has developed a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. Thus, by farming of this new breed of millet, the problem of vitamin A deficiency will be eroded. This argument initially seems legitimate but when scrutinized thoroughly has numerous loopholes which weakens the argument and eventually relegates the decision of the Tagus government.

To begin with, the argument fails to provide evidence about the weather conditions of Tagus. Are the weather and soil conditions favorable for the growth of the new breed? if not, the new breed of millets although rich in vitamin A will not grow due to unfavorable climatic conditions. Eventually causing debts to the government.

Secondly, although the government is ready to pay subsidies for farming of the new variety of millets as the seeds of the new type of millets cost more, the argument fails to put light on the opinion of the farmers, if they are ready to cultivate the new seeds or not. IF farming of the new breed of millets is a cumbersome task, the farmers would deny the government's proposal. This point weakens the arguement.

Thirdly, the argument directly assumes that millet being the staple food of people in Tagus, the people will readily accept the change. The consent of people here is neglected. If the people disagree upon buying the new variety of millet after it has been cultivated, the goverment and farmers will face a tremendous monetary loss. Also, there has been no evidence provided about the consumption of such hybrid millets the issue of vitamin deficiency has been resolved or not. With this point, the argument is weakened.

To wrap up, the goverment's decision of of replacing the ordinary millet with the hybrid millet as the staple food for the people of Tagus fails to justify its importance as a vital decision. Thus the argument miserably fails in justifying its point. Instead of cultivating new breed of millet, the government should undertake health awareness programmes where the repercussions of poor health and vitamin deficiency should be explained. Regular medical checkups will also solve this problem.