Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

As it is, this argument leaves the reader with little justification for its central claim: that cow flu inoculations cannot be administered. An informed judgment of this conclusion would require a more in-depth presentation of statistics, context, and relevant laws.

Above all else, a thorough analysis of this argument needs hard numbers. How many lives might be saved? How popular is the cow flu? What is the mortality rate for the inoculation? Were these statistics given, it would be simple to infer their bearing on the argument's validity. If the mortality rate of this inoculation was high compared to others the claim could immediately be recognized as reasonable. Even if the number of people saved by the vaccine was higher than the number killed, this statistic would be rendered mute by the population's fear of inoculation with a non-negligible chance of killing them. Indeed, it would be unlikely anyone would willingly get this shot. On the other hand, the argument would be belied if the mortality rate of the vaccine was comparable to others and the mortality rate and case-number of cow flu were high.

In addition to statistics, some context is in order. For example, what are the established laws on this issue? Is there a deadliness upper limit set by the FDA? It seems likely. If the author presented this limit with the vaccine's mortality rate, any reader could issue a swift and unequivocal evaluation of the central claims legitimacy.