Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

I don't remember the last time I was not sifting through multiple links in order to complete my assignment. Veritably, one can claim that we all have been there searching through google for content, well because of numerous reasons, firstly it's efficient and we are able to gain knowledge about anything in that is the reason, today there are more people in the world who are "Jack of all, Master of none". We have become so used to the idea of going through compendium that we really don't have a specific prowess, which is required to comment warranted on a topic.

The emergence of new theories and inventions were celebrating heyday during the 1900s, partly because people used to go through a tone of books for the purpose of gaining knowledge which enabled them to draw more astute deductions which further led to an evolution in terms of various fields in sciences, economics, politics. The volume of research in the 20th century is although surging and has genuine potential, that potential may never be reached if people base solely on facts and papers from the internet. Further, the quality of research has severely depleted, a lot of papers on computer science today share the same breakthroughs and there is a lack of ingenuity, partly because of so many lacking journals but still, more than redundancy novel information is required. Henc, for the achieving novelty researchers have to deeply study quality content which cannot be achieved through current practices as it reduces our attention span.

People using the internet always are in quandary about multitasking a.k.a sifting through multiple link or focus on finding the perfect link with most of the relevant information. With the time people, today, spend on their work or research, they have to employ the multi-tasking approach, during which they toil, making sure that have covered each and every important aspect of a topic but still a majority of works are found lacking in terms of authenticity and due to lack of attention.

Although there may be the certain situations and probably internet is a boon is providing us with an abundance of information, we need to change the way we research on internet trading of multi-tasking and attention to a particular document in a tantamount manner.

Hence, a reduction in the attention span has brought more harm than good to society.