Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society

We, humans, tend to apply logic to a myriad of situations in life. Logic is essentially one of the traits which separate us from other living organisms. Morals based on a foundation of logic reasoning indeed produces a long-lasting moral society, people as children are given the benefit of pondering about how an act is defined as moral and exactly what a moral society holds as pillars. Simply teaching morals only preaches conservatism which further creates a culture of people who tend to judge other people based solely on an antithetical basis. Hence, the goal of establishing morals is to create a prosperous society in which each individual thrives. Hence, the foundation of logical reasoning maybe is more suited as a generalized practice.

A child being besieged by bullies in the school learns only through logical reasoning that he has to stand up for himself rather than applying morality. Although his initial intention was not to create turmoil in school if some kids are continuously nagging, it is only through logic the kid learns to fight for his place and equality and teach some morals to those kids in the first place. Therefore, the development of morals via logical reasoning has a much greater impact and helps in establishing a more moral society. Logical reasoning is developed when we experience hardships and these hardships help us in differentiating right from wrong, which is the goal of morals in the first place. Hence, Through logic instilled by experiences morals are more deeply instilled in people rather than just teaching morals as experiential learning is involved with the logic based approach.

Logic helps us, humans, to deduce information from premises which help in the develpment of conclusion. Morals are the conclusion which we reach via deductions with logic. Thus, logic shapes the way how we think and if the basis of morals is logical thinking, we are able to develop moral thinking, when we apply moral thinking we are able to reach much sound conclusion rather than derectly learning from some book about good and bad morals.

Developing a morally sound artificial general intelligence is also a task because we tend to define morals as of rules and principles to be followed but these don't apply ubiquitously but if we are able to base AI instinct on logic then we can truly establish morals.