a nation should require all its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college

The author here says that a nation wide standard curriculum must be followed by the students before entering college. Such a proposition seems very promising as there are a number of benefits associated with such a vision.

A standard curriculum will result in a culture among students of high school and secondary education where they are at a standard level of prerequisite and necessary knowledge before going to college. This will leave no student at any diadvantage by any means by bringing them to atleast one basic level. Students from all parts of the society will recieve the same fundamental education. Such a system will remove any sort of bias which otherwise exists among different schools. For example, this will ensure that a student from a moderately funded school is atleast offered the same curriculum as provided by the majorly funded schools in the country. This will leave the less priviledged students at no disadvantage before going to college as compared to there other competitors who are much more effluent and can afford much poised schools.

Such a Standard curriculum will also help the authorities to design entrance exams and other test much more efficiently. As creating and fixating curriculum for an entrance exam is very hectic due to various curriculums in existence. A Standard curriculum will therefore encourage better test structures and much more sophistication by means of contents of the tests. Considering the other counterpart appoach, some students tend to feel underpriveleged when syllabus for entrance exams seems to favour a particular curriculum.

All the other curriculums will be eliminated resulting in one single body responsible for designing the curriculum instead of numerous smaller committes. Such a body will be able to follow a much more hollistic appoach in it's operation and not concentrating on a particular aspect like region and also other penuriouos relations. Therefore managing a single national curriculum will also be easier.

As discussed above a national curriculum for the country for all students until college will be a much more positive approach. Provided, the council responsible and deciding on such curriculums is wise enough to have a nation wide and broad perspective.