Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance

The job of a teacher is one of the most sacred and selfless professions one can aspire to have a career in. It is a job which requires immense knowledge, drive and creativity as no student is same and requires individual attention and handling. The idea of altering the salaries of teachers' on the basis of the performance of their students will not be beneficial by any means.

A scenario where the compensation of teachers is on constant supervision will actually lead to a very unstable work culture for teacher. Teachers will feel very stressed out because of this as they will be required to meet a certain performance threshold from the students leading to a very unhealthy psychology among the teachers and students. for example if a teacher somehow observes that the performance of his students are not at par with the required norms of the institution or if the teacher wants his salary to hype up a bit then he may even consider unfair means to grade his students. leading to a very retarded educational culture.

Performance of students should not be considered to be dependent only on the performance of teachers. There are a numerous other reasons for a certain performance level of the students. This strongly suggests the idea that altering the salaries of teachers only will lead to no good in most of the cases. consider if the management of an institute somehow admits students who are do not have enough prerequisites then it is unfair to judge a teacher on the basis of performance of such students.

Such kind of fear may even prevent teachers from experimenting and altering away from traditional teaching ways and will end up sticking to the same old tested and trusted not interactive ways of teaching. No doubt that it will reduce languid behavior among teachers but we will be achieving this goal at a very high cost.

This kind of analysis and constant nagging will also put teaching as a profession in bad light as not being a stable and appropriate occupation for those who have been investing immense time, research and study in a particular field. Therefore such a performance analysis must not be encouraged as they will be doing more harm than good.