"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

In this argument the author claims that the company must start reselling the alpaca coats whose production was held by the company from five years due to supplier issue. The author also claims that it will turn into a profitable product right away and customers will be willing to pay high for such a product. I disagree with the argument as it lacks no strong reasoning. Also the author is not providing the basis of such assumptions in any way.

First of all the author assumes that the alpaca coat will sell very well among the customers. This certainly can not be interpreted by any means as there is no strong remark provided to prove such an argument. Moreover, most of the companies' competitors are not selling the alpaca coat. Such a scenario strongly directs the company to first analyse the reason that why these companies halted the production. These studies will beforehand provide the actual reasons and will direct the company in the right direction that whether such a production is profitable now or not.

The author also assumes the fact that there will be a pent up demand for the alpaca coat without any proof. There is no reference to any sort of survey or study by any means done to buttress such an assumption. Company must rely on plausible surveys which must strictly indicate the demand for alpaca coats in the region of sale to ensure profit. Blindly assuming such an interpretation is not relevant at all.

Author also claims that the customer will pay higher for the alpaca coats considering the fact that prices of most of the clothing products have increased. As we have already analysed that there is no sufficient proof that even the demand of alpaca coats may not exist, assuming high payoff from customers in being irrelevantly far fetched dream. Moreover, the price of the coats must be fixed according to market standards and the prices at which the competitors of the company are offering the same product. Tagging the coats with very high prices can be an economical blunder for the company.

The above discussion strongly suggests that the authors argument of selling alpaca coats may not be a very profitable idea after all for the company. Author also has not provided any proofs and no relevant sources are indicated my any means to support the assumptions.