A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

While cultures around the world hold many disparate morals and beliefs, the value of education is shared; one will seldom find a society where education is not cherished and desired. Education brings opportunity and shapes the people our world, so is not surprising that a decent, well-rounded education is cherished across the globe. Due to the importance of a proper education, many debate its structure, pondering how and what students should learn during their younger years, before they enter college and can choose their field of study. A common view on this topic is the idea of a national curriculum, where all students are required to take the same courses before attending college. While some disagree, arguing that it results in diminished variety among students, I agree with this model, and believe that so long as the only standardized curriculum across a nation is the core classes, variety is still obtainable.

Requiring students to complete the same core courses, such as English/language, math, science, and history, before entering college offers substantial benefits for students. First, this model allows students equal opportunity. Regardless of background, financial status, or location, all students will have an equal opportunity for knowledge and to learn. Furthermore, students across a nation will receive the same preparation for college and standard testing, which is pivotal in their acceptance to the college of their choice. This model is also auspicious for students who must transfer to another school or state; students who fall in this category are able to continue their education no matter when or where they relocate. Requiring a national core curriculum for all students before college offers unequivocal advantages for students, all who benefit enormously its common structure and pellucidity.

Moreover, a national curriculum for primary education offers several advantages to colleges and universities in a nation as well. By requiring common core classes before college, it is easier for colleges to screen and compare applicants. Additionally, colleges understand the background of their future students and are able to appreciate their learning style, which is allows for efficient and ameliorated teaching methods that will best suit their learners.

While there are patent advantages to the national curriculum model of education, many share the opinion that this approach results in lack of variety among students. This is why, while I support this model, I believe the only shared curriculum across a nation should be its core curriculum: English/language, math, science, and history. Elective course offerings, on the other hand, such as art, music, home-economics, or foreign languages, should be entirely up to the individual states or school districts. This model offers freedom of expression and immense variety among students and allows them to enroll in courses that will be beneficial to their future field of study or will add to their lifestyle.

Overall, there are clear advantages to the educational model of a national curriculum for all primary and secondary education before entering college. This approach offers substantial benefits to both the students and universities involved and can still yield a vast variety of students through required core courses and freedom of choice for elective classes.