A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the primary pillars on which our whole society is standing upon. It plays an important role in shaping our youth who are going to become torchbearers of any nation’s journey to the future. The given statement propounds the idea that a nation should try to implement the same educational curriculum for all the schools in the country instead of giving them the liberty to choose on their own. In my opinion, this type of approach can be beneficial for society and can help in eradicating discrimination prevalent in our education system. There are various reasons which can justify my position.

To begin, the same nationwide curriculum ensures a minimal educational standard that can be maintained all over the country. It can be of great help in the upliftment of poor sections of society. For example, in the case of India after the implementation of the central board for secondary education as a nationwide curriculum, there has been a sudden increase in the number of students coming from backward sections of society in some of the prestigious colleges of the country. It not only helps in reducing disparity in different sections of society but also assists in providing an equal chance to every student in the country.

Moreover, a centralized education system significantly reduces the effort for any country to judge every student fairly without any bias by following a nationwide metric. This can help governments to design nationwide exams for admissions in different colleges across the country. It makes it a lot easier for universities to give admissions to those students who are truly deserving without having to think about designing a whole new exam. Also, it helps colleges to design their curriculum more efficiently by knowing that all students have a similar educational background.

Furthermore, because of a centralized education system, it is a lot easier to implement any changes or modifications in the current curriculum followed by various schools across the country. For a centralized educational system, it is really easy to adapt to changing educational standards in the world and keep up with the latest technological and social advancements. For example, a country wants to let every student develop some skill before passing out from school they can simply include a subject in the national curriculum as skill development. This kind of approach takes the educational mechanism of a country to a whole new level and can prove to be beneficial for the country in long run.

The same national curriculum doesn’t only allow a country to progress economically but also helps the future generation to become better citizens. I understand few people may argue that a centralized system may reduce diversity in society or may give rise to a parochial mindset in students but we must understand this kind of system is just a mode to provide students with a minimum educational platform to stand upon and have a better understanding about different things. In my opinion pros of the same nationwide curriculum outweigh the cons by a large factor and every country should at least consider giving this system a try.